Dinajpur District (rajshahi division) with an area of 3437.98 sq km, is bounded by thakurgaon and panchagarh districts on the north, gaibandha and joypurhat districts on the south, nilphamari and rangpur districts on the east, the Indian state of West Bengal on the south west. Annual average highest temperature 33.5oC and lowest 10.5oC; annual rainfall 2536 mm. Main rivers are dhepa, punarbhaba, Kanchan and atrai.
Dinajpur (Town) Dinajpur municipal town consists of 12 wards and 80 mahallas. The area of the municipality is 20.6 sq km and its population is 157343; male 51.29%, female 48.71%. The literacy rate among the town people is 56.5%
Administration Dinajpur district was established in 1786. Its previous name was Ghoraghat district. Various parts of the districts were included in Purnia, Rangpur and Rajshahi districts at different times during 1833 to 1870. Thakurgaon and Panchagarh Sub-divisions of this district were turned into independent districts in 1984. It consists of six municipalities, 57 wards, 200 mahallas, 13 upazilas, 101 union parishads and 2142 villages. The Upazilas are birampur, birganj, biral, bochaganj, chirirbandar, phulbari, ghoraghat, hakimpur, kaharole, khansama, dinajpur sadar, nawabganj, parbatipur. Archaeological heritage and relics kantanagar temple, Rajbari, Dinajpur Museum, ramsagar tank and the tombs of Chehel Gazi and Gora Shahid, Sitar Kuthuri, Habra Zamindar Bari, Gour Gabindha, Baraduari, Shingha Darwaza Palace, nayabad mosque, Aowkar Mosque. Historical events Dinajpur was once a part of the ancient state of Pundrabardhwan. The British administrative control in Dinajpur was established in 1793. At the time of Partition of Bengal in 1947, part of greater Dinajpur district was included in West Bengal and it was named West Dinajpur. People of the district took part in the Tebhaga Movement and also had significant contribution in the War of Liberation.
Population 2617942; male 51.12%, female 48.88%; Muslim 76.65%, Hindu 20.58%, Christian 0.80%, Buddhist 0.11% and others 1.86%; ethnic nationals: the Santal and Oraon . Religious institutions Mosques 3349, Hindu temples 453, tomb 657, churches 38, sacred place 1.